Too Cold!

You’ll rarely find me complaining about the weather. I live in Michigan. It will be -19 at times and other times 98. Sure I’m happiest when it is somewhere in the middle, but who isn’t?

I wanted to run 6 miles yesterday, to get my legs used to a little longer distance before I start training for the 5/3 Riverbank Run 25k. I waited until it warmed up to a toasty 5 degrees (started out at -19, so it was a 24 degree warm up) and it was sunny with no wind. I made it 2.35 miles before calling it quits. No matter how fast or slow I ran, my legs ached. Right behind the knees felt the worst and I’ve run through pain before only to wind up with a torn cartilage in my knee weeks before a half-marathon.

Instead I rested proud in the fact that I voluntarily was outside (and enjoying the cold) on a day most people were complaining about.

Out for a run last winter!

What is the coldest you’ve ever ran in?

Last year I did 6 miles in a -6 windchill!!

2 responses to “Too Cold!

  1. Katie! Welcome to WordPress 🙂

    You’re my hero for running when it’s so cold. I can talk myself into sometimes, but usually just end up at the gym for some bonding time with the elliptical.

  2. Rachel! Yeah, I’m a gym bunny too right now but know that with 25k training start next week, I’ll be spending more time on the roads and wanted to get back out there again.

Leave a Reply

