10 and done!

After Saturday’s bummer post, I spent the rest of the day moping. I
didn’t change out of my running gear, which stunk since I haven’t
washed them since my last outdoor run (don’t judge, I have 1 pair of
tights and 1 pullover, they would have been wet still!). I didn’t do
anything to my hair, except replace my ear band with a bondiband. And I
only took my watch off to wash dishes. I read running blogs, I read
Runner’s World and I took a nap. All the while, Brent sought refuge from
his overly emotional wife by playing video games. I wept with every text
and comment leaving me encouragement. I chatted with Hannah and we both
acknowledge battling our attitudes this running season. Every time Brent
tried to ask what was wrong or if I wanted to do something I’d get
choked up, cry and sniffle out some answer about wanting to run or
wishing I’d never run again. When I saw someone run past the house, on
the wet (not icy) roads, I again broke down in tears. That dude made
running look easy, why couldn’t I?

 Finally by 4 pm (yes, 7 hours of weeping and blues had ensued), I made up my mind. I’d take a quick shower and put on my pjs and just spend the day on the couch. Then I realized something, that Sunday morning the roads would again have that morning ice on them. I’d again not be able to run and would have no time later in the day due to family gatherings. SO then I let myself wallow
in the fact that I’d totally blown my opportunity for a 10 miler. And then starting beating myself up for not getting out once the roads were melted and running. What a loser!

Brent made plans with a buddy to escape the depressing atmosphere I
brought to our house by playing a round of golf (on a simulator) at 7:30
pm.  And then it hit me! I could get some outdoor miles in at that very moment and then finish at the gym, while he golfed! Thankful that I was ultra lazy
and could just put my shoes on, I headed out the door. I finish 5.62
miles in 54:25 (pretty dang good for my current condition) despite some
snowy patches. Then I dropped Brent off in town and completed 4.5 miles at
a snails pace (I lost track of my time, since I stopped to stretch a few
times). Those 4.5 miles were GRUELING! My legs were complaining that I
had already ran that day and I was under fueled. I didn’t eat much all
day and then wasn’t sure how to fuel for a 10 miler split into 2 parts
with about 45 minutes between the parts (I ate 1/2 a banana and a small glass of milk before leaving for the gym). I was also dehydrated and
sucked down 40 ozs of water on those 4.5 miles. I walked a bunch
(started with 9:1 running to walking ratio and kept dropping until I got
to 3:1). But I got those miles done! I did it! I ran 10.12 miles!!!!!

I felt pretty good yesterday, except that my nagging left shin pain has
returned. Not sure if it is a shin splint or what, but it hurts to walk
and is EXTREMELY sensitive to the touch.

So check that off my training plan! I’m making a comeback!

One response to “10 and done!

  1. Great job getting the 10 done…it is amazing how much a bad run hangs over a person afterwards, some people just dont understand

    cheers

Leave a Reply

