Rhubarb Custard Yumminess!

Finally a recipe!

For a blog titled “cooklaughmove” I sure don’t post about cooking (or baking) very much. So here is a recipe to change that!

Rhubarb is either loved or hated but rarely just tolerated. We grew up eating rhubarb pies, so I love it. My mom has a big patch in her yard that produces lots of delicious rhubarb. What I can’t bake up, I freeze for use later in the year. I have fond memories of a last rhubarb pie being baked in a very hot house around the 4th of July and being enjoyed piping hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Last night I had time on my hands and rhubarb in my fridge, so I pulled out my mom’s tried and true recipe and got to work making a crisp of sorts (I wasn’t ambitious enough to tackle pie crust).

Enjoyed at work with our morning coffee!

Rhubarb Custard Pie/Crisp
3 eggs slightly beaten (farm fresh and free from a co-worker work best ;))
1 cup of sugar
¼ cup flour (I used whole wheat)
4 cups diced and washed rhubarb
Sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg

½ cup oatmeal
½ cup flour (I used whole wheat)
½ cup brown sugar
1/3 cup butter
Sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg
Dash of salt
* Pie crust (either store bought or homemade, optional)

Mix eggs, sugar, flour and spices together until well blended. Stir in rhubarb and pour into either a single pie crust or into a greased 9×9 baking dish.

Work the oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, butter, spices and salt together until crumbly and sprinkle on top of rhubarb mixture. Bake at 325* for approximately 45 minutes until set. Serve warm with ice cream. Keep leftovers refrigerated.

Custard + Crumb topping = YUM!

2 responses to “Rhubarb Custard Yumminess!

  1. Luke made a strawberry rhubarb pie last night… it was so good with ice cream melting all over it, but so rich! BTW… I luv rhubarb, even raw with dipped in sugar or salt!

Leave a Reply

